Mike Campbell (guitarist for Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) formed The Dirty Knobs back in 2001 with 3 other session musicians, mainly as a way to keep himself busy and occupied during downtime from the Heartbreakers. It only took about 19 years to finally put out a formal debut album. As of this writing, 3 singles off the record have been released - the rest of the tracks come out November 20, 2020. From what I’ve heard so far, I’m really looking forward to hearing the rest of the album. It’s a bit uncanny (and unnerving) how much Campbell’s singing voice sounds like Petty’s. In fact, in preparation for the record release, Campbell has been giving a lot of interviews and one of the stories he tells is how Petty didn’t want him releasing a solo record because of how similar their voices sound. In terms of the 3 songs currently out, Campbell insists that ‘F**k that Guy’ is not about any one person - he prefers the listener “insert your own a$$hole.” Well, I know whom I’m going to complete this Mad Lib with….